.
News Alert
Geneva Woman Killed in Motorcycle Crash

What About the 'Meijer' Property?

Are there development plans in line for the vacant space near Benedictine? What do you think should be done?

I just wanted to start a separate thread for a question that was brought up in the trustee candidate profiles: What should be done with the vacant property near ?

What does the community need? What will agree with nearby residents? How would a development project affect property tax dollars?

Nicole Webb March 04, 2011 at 10:25 PM
I'd like it to be a whole foods.
Sharron March 04, 2011 at 10:59 PM
Its a huge property with some wetlands at the south east corner. The property should be subdivided with a transitional use (multi-family) between the single family residential and a reasonable size commercial/business use on Maple that complements uses like Walgreens across the street. There is a college and high school right next door so uses that attract 14-25 yr olds may do quite well. For example - where do the Benet kids go after a game or a play? Is there anywhere close by for them to leave campus and walk to get lunch? It will never be developed as institutional. Leaving it zoned as institutional for the past 12 years demonstrates the nimby anti-business attitude of the current board.
Bob S March 04, 2011 at 11:07 PM
Navistar - in parternship with Benedictine - should build a big truck/MRAP test track and call it "higher education research/institutional use".
Mary March 04, 2011 at 11:14 PM
Bob S, why the Navistar bashing??? They have done nothing but support our community...sponsoring every event they have been asked to sponsor. Navistar has nothing to do with the Meijer property. They are good neighbors located in the research and development corridor. Sharron, I don't disagree with you, but if the board had taken away the institutional zoning then a Lisle would be the proud home of a Meijer right now. Green Trails and Steeple Run Folks, better vote to keep the current board in! Wilkie and Ledvora say they are anti-Meijer, but their supporters want to take away the current zoning, opening the way for a super store.
Bob S March 04, 2011 at 11:17 PM
Seriously - the test rack has to go somewhere and the location still has not been announced. It's the perfect spot! No zoning changes required.
Mark March 04, 2011 at 11:22 PM
I resent that - I will vote for Ledvora and Wilkie. I live in Green Trails and don't support a huge superstore on Maple and I did not support the ridiculous engine testing on Warrenville. Someone has to stop the tax increases the the 8 yrs of expeditures exceeding revenue for 8 yrs straight - spending down $20 Million in reserves. We need some responsible people in office. It is time for a change. (by the way - Steeple Run is not in the Village of Lisle - so they don't get to vote for trustee)
Don March 05, 2011 at 12:04 AM
Mark - I agree 100%. I live in Green Trails, too. I will support Ledvora and Wilkie in this election.
Jerry March 05, 2011 at 01:49 AM
What have the in-dumb-ant candidates who have been in office for 12 years propose for this 60+ acre vacant site?
Leigh March 05, 2011 at 03:26 AM
I would like to see some of it remain open space. A larger community garden center would be nice.
Diane March 05, 2011 at 04:15 AM
I agree with Leigh - the wetlands at he south east corner should remain. But considering the financial crisis the village is in - annexation and development with some property and sales tax revenue and the much needed new jobs is extremely important for Lisle. Especially since about 1900 people in the region who work for Navistar are going to lose ther jobs or take a buyout.
Frank March 05, 2011 at 03:25 PM
Park District should buy it. It is basically tax exampt now anyways.
John March 05, 2011 at 04:00 PM
Here's an idea: Village of Lisle should take the property by eminent domain and permanently remove it from the tax rolls. Then they should build a big detention pond and call it "Praire Walk Pond 2." In the winter, they can build an ice rink there to drum up vast amount of sales tax revenue on purchases of hot chocolate.
Jon Cunningham March 05, 2011 at 04:41 PM
Trader Joe's would be great there, saving shoppers the trip to Downers Grove or Naperville. No so big as the mega stores, but still good selection and prices.
Jon Cunningham March 05, 2011 at 04:41 PM
Make that NOT so big...
Julio G Atlas March 05, 2011 at 04:48 PM
LOL! And, they could put Bob's test track around the pond, getting double use of the space.
John S April 05, 2011 at 02:14 PM
Did I see drilling soil borings/soi testing on this site last week? Is Meijers planning to build without incorporating into Lisle?
Bill November 07, 2012 at 12:28 AM
Hovnanian ain't looking so good... http://www.ripoffreport.com/builders-contractors/k-hovnanian-khov/k-hovnanian-khov-khov-you-b7769.htm http://www.realtor.org/rmodaily.nsf/0/de158967ac586f5586256fcd00590016?OpenDocument http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/k-hovnanian-homes-chantilly-virginia-c97298.html http://www.consumeraffairs.com/housing/k-hovnanian-builders.html http://www.ripoffreport.com/builders-contractors/k-hovnanian-homes/k-hovnanian-homes-k-hovnania-c18e0.htm

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »