.
News Alert
Geneva Woman Killed in Motorcycle Crash

Puppy Parlor Lies To A Judge

The back room of Puppy Mill Parlor
The back room of Puppy Mill Parlor

Tammy Coglianese, owner of Puppy Mill Parlor recently had a protester served with a restraining order.  She lied to a judge to get it.  While Coglianese, her employees, and friends lie - to the Lisle Police, Lisle’s Mayor, Village Manager, Trustees, the Dept of Agriculture, and potential customers - and get away with it; lying to a judge is a different story.

Overwhelming evidence was presented in court yesterday by the accused protester.  As a result, the judge threw the case out.  It was proven that everything in the restraining order was a lie.  Everything.  Including the dates the two “incidents” Coglianese claimed occurred.

 

On one date it was proven the protest was cancelled due to rain, despite Coglianese and her employee Carla Ruehl testifying otherwise.

On the second date Coglianese adamantly testified the protester stalked and harassed her by blocking her car from leaving the store and following her.  The protester wasn’t even at the protest.  She was helping friends move. All day

 

Not only did she lie in court, under oath, so did Ruehl.  The judge was visibly annoyed at the responses Coglianese and Ruehl gave when asked repeatedly to provide “specific dates” the accused allegedly stalked or harassed them.  When the protester’s attorney began her closing statement, the judge put her hand up and essentially said not to bother.  It was apparent the judge was done wasting her time and threw the case out. 


Domestic violence and violence of any nature is terrible.  Restraining orders are critical for those who need them.  It is beyond despicable that Tammy and her minions abused this process and manipulated the court system for their personal vendetta.  Just goes to show the lengths Puppy Parlor will go to to get protesters to stop educating potential victims, er customers, about the risks of buying a sick puppy mill dog from them.  Two Lisle Police Officers and one DuPage County Sheriff’s Officer served the restraining order.  The DuPage County court’s precious time and resources were wasted yesterday.  And you picked up the tab.  For all of it.  Courtesy of Tammy Coglianese.


We will not stray from our mission to educate potential customers, about the dangers of buying a sick, puppy mill dog from Puppy Parlor.  And to help those 60+ sick dogs still languishing in cages, stacked one on top of another, and never get out.  Regardless of how many false police reports they make (40 to date for those keeping track).  Or how many times they and their friends harass us, or lie in an attempt to manipulate your police department and the court system. 

And this is the type of business owner and business your Village Government supports.

Don Scott December 12, 2013 at 10:35 PM
I concur with the initial commenter, Cheryl Kirk, literally word for word and in general terms with really every other post. Look, anyone with any sense of compassion and morality in their being would not be involved with the barbarity of puppy mills. The lies, the fraud, the investigated charges filed and documented, allegations of dead puppies in freezers...it all is part and parcel of someone so vile and cold hearted who looks to put money in her pocket, cruelty and humanity be damned. This woman is a creep and a disgrace to the town of Lisle. Sadly, one step below her is the mayor of this town, Broda, and his board of delinquents who are the dotted-line connection to The Gates of Hell known as Puppy Parlor. If this is the kind of "business" they want to support and use for Lisle's tax base -- which is what they've done and continue to do -- it's high time a street sweeper rolls through to clean out the delinquent and apathetic and introduce real leadership with common sense and some guts. This group has proven to be a despicable embarrassment.
Ida Mccarthy December 12, 2013 at 11:31 PM
This is seriously insane. Those dogs are living in hell in a back room in Lisle. We have done all we can and this has turned into a political issue. It’s about the dogs in the back room of a pet store in Lisle being abused. I park on Main street to wait for protestors to show up everyday. I see a man walking around with a stick checking tires. Maybe he should go in the back room of Puppy Mill Parlor and check those 100 dogs with a stick and see if they have a heartbeat. If there is ONE person on the city council, police department, any department that has seen a dog walked, please feel free to post it here. One dog in four years of having Puppy Mill Parlor in your town. One dog. One walk. Please let me know. Dogs in cages their entire lives is animal abuse. If anyone has been sold a sick or dying dog from this place, please visit www.caps-web.org and fill out a pet store complaint form. Thank you.
Rita Pereira December 13, 2013 at 10:22 AM
So couldn't they get her on perjury charges? What about harassment? And/or malicious persecution? She lied in court and got caught. This should be a no-brainer.
Heather Shaw December 13, 2013 at 08:51 PM
I'm wondering why she wouldn't be thrown in jail for lying to both police and a judge?
Maria December 14, 2013 at 10:36 PM
Boycotting ALL downtown Lisle businesses until the Village of Lisle shuts this place down. Only exception is any business that posts a "NO puppy mills in Lisle" sign in their front window.
Nancy December 15, 2013 at 07:34 PM
I'm embarrassed to say I lived in Lisle for many years. I can't believe this place is still open. Lisle is now being linked to 'this place' in conversations I hear in public places. 'Lisle? Oh yeah that's where the puppy mill is that they won't shut down.'
Dennis Brooke December 18, 2013 at 01:11 PM
Maybe she has something on a "high" official in Lisle! This can not go on much longer. These protesters have basically dedicated their lives to this cause. The pups and the people deserve better. Lisle's reputation is going into the toilet over this terrible Puppy Parlor situation, don't city officials read people's comments?
Maria December 18, 2013 at 11:13 PM
Lisle officials will not acknowledge that the Patch exists.
matt mcewen December 20, 2013 at 01:45 AM
Disgusting behavior on behalf of Tammy and her profiteers....newsflash: if you have to LIE to get a judge to believe you, you're on the wrong side of the battle. And yes, the judge didnt even believe her....but the point is....this is so unethical that not only are they profiting off puppy mill dogs, but they are so dead-set on profiting off them that they feel the need to lie to get the law on their side...pathetic. Stay strong, soldiers....keep fighting til they shut their doors for good. Do NOT back down, though I know I dont need to tell you that! True respect to you!
Don Scott December 20, 2013 at 02:16 AM
It's time to bring in one or more of the major Chicago media outlets to really blow this up for what it is. That would include the history of Puppy Parlor, the investigations, the citations, the allegations of dead frosty puppies in the freezer, the puppy mill sources, etc. This would also include the city of Lisle and its board starting with Mr. Mayor himself. With a microphone in his face and camera rolling, pray tell how will Mayor Broda respond when faced with the question, "How can you in good conscience permit this in Lisle, IL?" The people protesting mean business. I've seen enough of their actions for a long time to know. And what their actions serve to do is highlight the embarrassment of an inept and callous city administration, a city taxing a business that's keeping its lights on through proven and documented animal cruelty, and an owner of this business who doesn't give a damn about anything behind how that puppy stuffed in a metal cage can put a dollar in her pocket. MEDIA, come one come all - we have a story to tell!
matt mcewen December 20, 2013 at 02:20 AM
Good luck. Unless Rahm can make some money off of it I see it getting NO press. He came in and immediately fired the best head of Animal Care and Control this city has ever seen. He has zero interest in anything unless he can make money off of it. He is pure greed.
cherylkkirk December 20, 2013 at 01:13 PM
Appreciate all the comments! Where do the citizens of Lisle stand on this issue? Count on seeing the protestors until this horrendous issue is resolved. For anyone who has a dog...imagine your own pet in a cage, all day every day, never getting out, ever, no love, no attention, no comfortable bed, no peace. You wouldn't do that for a day...this is their entire lives. What did those little souls in Tammy's Little Shop of Horrors do to deserve this?
Cory Ferguson December 20, 2013 at 08:17 PM
Lisle needs to get with the times and prove that they will not stand for this. It is a blight on the town's name and reputation. Shut this store down and don't allow the sale of pets once and for all.
Shannah Doerner December 24, 2013 at 10:35 AM
I used to work near this "pet store" and went in once on lunch. There weren't too many puppies up front, but someone was looking at them, and the worker went in back to bring out another puppy, which I thought was VERY odd. If you have puppies, shouldn't they all be on display unless they are sick? Well, when walking in the alley way I could hear TONS of dogs barking. I was stunned. First off, there's no way the store is even that large, so while you can't see in the back, one can only imagine with all the dogs barking how many are stacked in cages.
Arthur Dietrich December 27, 2013 at 10:07 AM
I agree with Mr. Scott. Call or write to the news departments at WBBM, WMAQ, WLS, and WGN TV. Explain the story to them. I would bet dollars to donuts one of their crack investigative reporting teams would be on the story pretty fast. What about the Daily Herald or Chicago Tribune? This is the kind of news the media outlets love. I don't know if you've tried this yet, however, this is the first I've heard of this story and it really makes my blood boil because I rescued a golden retriever born in a puppy mill and sold in a pet store. Breaks my heart to think about what he went through. What's the location of this place?
Ida Mccarthy December 27, 2013 at 02:29 PM
This little shop of horrors is at the corner of Main and Ogden in Lisle. The back room is approximately 800 square feet. Those poor poor dogs....
Don Scott December 27, 2013 at 05:07 PM
At a time when you are seeing cities across the country -- some major ones such as San Diego, West Hollywood, CA, Phoenix -- legislating against pet store sales...when retail shopping malls are converting revenue-seeking, breeder pet stores into adoption centers, here you have Lisle, IL, allowing cruelty, immorality and disdain to run rampant. The best thing Mayor Broda and his elected village officials could do is publicly acknowledge Puppy Parlor for what it is, then sever ties while effectively cutting Lisle's umbilical chord to puppy mills. Without that, this groundswell of support to shut this down and the publicity around this movement will only grow.
Dianne Arp December 27, 2013 at 10:09 PM
I wonder where the handful of Puppy (Mill) Parlor supporters are? The inane blogger? The attorney? Tammy Coglianese and her employees?? Nothing but *crickets* And for those who've asked - yes, there will be consequences for Tammy and Carla lying in court, under oath. Consequences which will be pursued the right way, legally. They can lie to the police/Lisle Government and get away with it. They and their friends can lie to a judge to get restraining orders. Their friends can lie to get people arrested. But when you get caught lying in court and it's proven you're a liar - it's a whole different ball game. And they're waaay outta their league. Stay tuned.....
Rita Pereira January 02, 2014 at 01:31 PM
Just checked out Puppy Parlor's website. I find it ironic they don't put ALL the Dept Of Agriculture's reports on their site, only from May of 2013 to current and lie to consumers about why they left Bolingbrook too. I sure hope before people fall for their lies, they do their homework. FOIA the Bolingbrook police reports from before 2009, like Lisle should have before letting her in Lisle. You'll find out she was kicked out of Bolingbrook. Reports show more than 100 adult dogs in cages this time last year, but of course those dockets aren't on their site. That store has been closed since New Years Eve. Poor dogs, I pray Carla is actually going up there and taking care of them.
Ida Mccarthy January 02, 2014 at 01:38 PM
Closed since New Year's Eve???? Does anyone know if someone is taking care of those dogs?????
Mark Tanner January 02, 2014 at 01:47 PM
Should be easy enough to see in this heavy snow if there are any footprints leading into the bldg. With so many places closed due to the weather today this is very concerning!
Arthur Dietrich January 02, 2014 at 02:08 PM
Wondering if someone could call some agency to do a wellness check.
Mark Tanner January 02, 2014 at 02:24 PM
Just looked up Puppy Parlor's internet site as well. Below is what comes up on their home page. If they are so reputable, then why this long and rambling statement in which they admit they never have video evidence to prove that they are being "attacked" by these protesters? And I agree, a wellness check is in order. Dog-lover here. "Since December 2012, Puppy Parlor in Lisle and it’s owner Tammy Coglianese have been under attack by a small local group sponsored by a Nationwide organization known as CAPS Investigations. This group started out protesting weekly and has progressed to a handful of daily protesters. You may have driven by and seen them or come across them on the Lisle Patch. From the beginning this group has made false accusations against the store and its owner. They “claim” to have “proof” to their accusations and hand out fliers saying it contains their “proof”. This flier contains generalized animal rights articles and statistics that appear to have come from the internet. There are also routine pictures taken by the Illinois Department of Agriculture of puppies and dogs in holding pens at the store. The descriptions of these photos have been taken completely out of context. What is missing is actual evidence. There are no specifics. They claim we sell sick and dying puppies…Where is the proof? Where are the veterinary reports stating such ? Where are the pet owners that were involved ? Since this began, Puppy Parlor has been visited by several officials from the City of Lisle including the police, code enforcer, clerk’s office, and fire department. The Illinois Department of Agriculture who licenses the facility have sent 2 different inspectors together and separately multiple times (note inspection reports are posted on this site and in the window of the store). Also the USDA sent an inspector out as well. In each and every case there have been no violations nor have any crimes been committed. This group is claiming Puppy Parlor is committing animal cruelty and animal abuse yet all of these government officials have been thru the store and visited the puppies. The paper trail makes our case for us… these accusations are FALSE. Fabricated to tug on the heart strings of the general public and use stereo-types of the pet industry to move forward their agenda. They have tried to make this into a pet store vs shelter issue when in fact the opposite is true. While Puppy Parlor sells puppies we also help re-home dogs for customers that are no longer able to keep or care for their pets. If we aren’t able to help find the right pet for a customer we happily will direct the customer to a reputable shelter. While we respect individuals right to their opinion, we feel that the protestors have went too far. These daily protests are far from peaceful. Personal attacks have been made against the owner, employees, volunteers, and even customers. The protesters claim to have cameras on the store 24/7 and have been seen driving by with cameras hanging out of vehicle windows. The police have been brought in by Puppy Parlor and by customers that have been attacked but this camera footage is always unavailable as proof. The Lisle police has asked Puppy Parlor not to address or confront the protestors and for the most part Puppy Parlor has honored that request. Have there been slipups…Absolutely. Once in while everyone needs to get a jab in after being under constant attack."
Rita Pereira January 02, 2014 at 02:42 PM
Once in awhile dogs need to get out for exercise too, oh wait, not if they are at Puppy Parlor! Sick, just sick!
Teresa Connors January 02, 2014 at 07:01 PM
I don't understand why this hellhole is still in business. The city officials in Lisle should be ashamed of themselves.
Rita Pereira January 02, 2014 at 08:34 PM
That would NEVER happen Don, NEVER! *sarcasm*
Dianne Arp January 03, 2014 at 11:07 AM
Mark Tanner - you are correct, the nonsense you posted is from Puppy (Mill) Parlor's web site. If anything we said, did, handed out was incorrect, or a lie - we would've been sued for defamation and slander. There's a reason WHY that hasn't happened. Because we can PROVE everything we say. And interestingly enough - what Tammy Coglianese failed to mention is that she has FOUR VIDEO CAMERAS outside her store: two in front, two in back. They're just for show and have NEVER worked. If she was SO threatened by the mean, evil protesters, fake potential damage to her store, and all the fake harassment from the protesters - all cameras would've been in operation day 1. So she could PROVE all the false 911 reports she's made to the Police (all 40 of them to-date for those keeping track). Why aren't they working?!?! Tammy Coglianese lied to the judge and said her cameras haven't been working for "about 2 months." Just one of the MANY lies she/they tell. That's what happens when you're a habitual liar - you get all tangled up in your lies and can't keep anything straight. And you get caught. And consequences follow.
Ida Mccarthy January 03, 2014 at 08:57 PM
“We rehome dogs people can no longer keep.” My favorite lie. By golly, this has got to be the most awesome pet store ever! They should be called Puppy Parlor Rescue! The back room dogs. Now they’re trying to sell them on the internet. Oh yeah, under a different phone number too. 200 to 300 dollars, 1 to 5 years old. Google “tammy4707” ….you’ll see all the ads on the free websites. God help those poor people who buy a sick dog from the back room
Arthur Dietrich January 03, 2014 at 09:40 PM
Does anyone know when Puppy Parlor was last inspected by the Illinois Department of Agriculture? Their website indicates Puppy Parlor has a license to operate, $25 license fee. The department website also indicates to license holders to expect an inspection after the license is granted. Just wondering.
Rita Pereira January 04, 2014 at 09:39 AM
The attained the Lisle Business License in March, after it was brought to their attention she was running the business that all stores are supposed to have in Lisle, without a business license. Amazing how that suddenly showed up, isn't it?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »